Girolles on baguettini

So I bought a punnet of girolles from one of the markets here down in the south of France, and they sat in the fridge for a few days with me fretting over what to do with them. Luckily, a photo of some delicious mushrooms on toast popped up on my Instagram newsfeed, and a recipe to go with it. So, here’s that recipe, I’ll add the tweaks I added in, but of course, recipes are only guidelines.

Thanks John Whaite for the recipe! (Here x)

Ingredients:

  • 200g mixed mushrooms (I used girolles), sliced
  • 1 tsp paprika (in the future, I would use strong paprika, or another stronger spice)
  • 1 garlic clove (I used three), minced
  • 75ml double cream
  • 2 slices sourdough (I used toasted baguette crostini, approx 15)
  • 40g unsalted butter
  • sea salt & black pepper
  • I added 1 sprig of rosemary

Method:

  1. Clean mushrooms (if necessary). I used a pastry brush to brush off the dirt.
  2. Melt the butter in a pan and fry the mushrooms off with some salt. John recommends to fry them in batches – he did 3 batches, I did 2. Cook until golden.
  3. Add all mushrooms back into the pan, and fry for one minute.
  4. Add the paprika, and stir.
  5. Add the garlic and the cream, and rosemary, and simmer for 5 minutes.
  6. Add pepper to the mushrooms, then serve on the crispy bread.

This recipe is perfect for breakfast, or as a little canapé or even a snack. It’s super easy to make and super delicious, thanks John!

IMG_3845.JPG

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds wonderful. Mushrooms on toast used to me my Mother and I’s favourite breakfast, sometimes with fried strips of tofu in pita bread instead … and sometimes with tomatoes as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was! Oh yummy! Will have to try it with pita, that sounds super tasty 🙂

      Like

  2. Iwanttobeacook says:

    It looks yummy 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

