End of my SpiceBox adventure

So, I finished up my time with SpiceBox last week,  and it was a bittersweet ending. I’m happy to be moving on to other things and enjoying my summer, but of course sad, as I made such great friends, had great (and also low!) times, and made so many amazing memories. I’m sure it won’t be the last I see of SpiceBox (or the last they see of me!), but for now, it’s goodbye.

SpiceBox also gave me a huge chance to develop as a chef. I’m so much more comfortable now with spices and batch cooking (ever had to cook 100 portions before?), and so much more understanding of vegans and the plant-based world.

I also got given the opportunity to go to many amazing food festivals, trade with other traders, and was able to photograph and style (and recipe test) food for the House and Garden magazine! (see here X)

I can’t say thank you enough to Grace, the founder of SpiceBox, for giving me so many opportunities and allowing me to develop as a chef, and for giving me an insight into a start-up food business; I’ve pretty much watched her company grow from its first baby steps into full-on walking, with the occasional skip, and the more-occasional stumble. Her passion for her food and for people to like her food is so inspiring to work with, and gives me a lot of admiration for her and other chefs alike. This is what the food game is all about, when it comes down to it – sharing your delicious food, and making people happy with what you’ve made.

Anyway, I’ll leave you with some of my best shots of the whole experience, and maybe it’ll tempt you to order a SpiceBox next time you’re in London 🙂

Leave a Reply

