Courgette ribbons

Hopping on the ‘courgetti’ boat a little late, but better late than never … ? After so much hype and excitement about these courgetti, I wanted to see what all of the fuss was about. Now, I don’t own a spiraliser and I didn’t plan to get one just to use once for courgetti, so I followed Kitchen Julie‘s idea (post about it here x) and just used what I had – a peeler. Just an ordinary peeler, that I used to peel the courgettes into ribbons, just like you would do to a carrot or a cucumber for a strip salad. If you want that ‘noodle’ texture, then go ahead and get a spiraliser, but personally, I’m pretty happy with my my ‘ribbons’ of courgette, which I’m sure taste exactly the same as courgette ‘noodles’.

On a hungry day, I ate 2 small courgettes by myself (i.e. 2 small courgettes serves 1), along with a tomato-based pasta sauce, and it was surprisingly delicious.

If you’re not a big fan of courgette tasting things, then perhaps this one is for you. To be honest, the courgetti didn’t actually taste of much – just a hint of freshness that comes with vegetables rather than carbs. The sauce did all of the talking, so go ahead and make that as fancy as you want. I’ll leave you with the ingredients I used for the pasta sauce (won’t bother for the method, unless anyone requests), and steps with what to do with your courgette.

Courgetti is a lovely alternative for a lighter, fresher pasta-based dish, or indeed a gluten-free pasta dish.

IMG_0922

Ingredients (pasta sauce):
(serves 2)

  • 2 small onions
  • 2 small carrots
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 sticks celery
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 veg stock
  • 1 tin hot water
  • 1 tbsb tomato puree

Ingredients (courgette ribbons):

  • 4 small courgettes

Method (courgette ribbons):
(serves 2-3)

  1. Peel your courgettes, and keep peeling all the way through it, as if shaving it down by peeling.
  2. Throw the courgettes into salted boiling water, and boil for 2 minutes, then drain.
  3. Serve with a sauce of your choice.

Couldn’t be easier! Plus, this is quicker than the time it takes to boil pasta – and healthier too.

IMG_0911

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kitchenjulie says:

    Looks delicious! Very fresh and perfect for summer. Great pictures, too !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much, both for taking the time to comment and for the recipe 🙂 I’m so glad you like my take.

    Like

Leave a Reply

