Garlic hasselback sweet potato

Watching the Sorted boys’ video (here X) on Hasselback potatoes really got my mouth watering, but I think my heart gave a little hiccup with the amount of fat, cream & cheese they slathered on to theirs (granted, they were very aware that it was a ‘special treat’ type food!), so I wanted to try a healthier version, trying not to compromise on the taste. I switched up a sweet potato instead of a standard potato, (mostly because that’s all I had in my cupboard), and used an olive spread (carrying on my dairy-free diet) and it turned out delicious! Possibly my new favourite way of eating sweet potatoes 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 small-medium sweet potato
  • 1 tbsp olive spread
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 pinch smoked chilli flakes
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced

Method:
(Serves 1)

  1. Preheat your oven to 190C fan.
  2. Lay your sweet potato down the way it naturally rests. Cut several parallel slices downwards into the potato with a sharp knife, but do not cut all the way to the bottom; about 2/3 or 3/4 way down the potato will do, so the whole thing still holds together. TIP:  place a wooden spoon down on the chopping board next to the potato while you cut – the wooden handle will stop your knife going through all the way, and you should end up with some pretty even slices.
  3. Mix together the olive spread, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, chilli flakes, and minced garlic into a bowl and stir until combined.
  4. Coat the potato with the spread, trying to get some slivers of the spread down the cuts (but don’t worry if you can’t, it’ll slip down naturally while cooking).
  5. Bake your sweet potato until cooked through. Depending on the size of the potato, and the strength of your oven, it will take anywhere from 40-60 minutes. If the potato looks like it’s burning, just cover it with tin foil until it is cooked through.
  6. Once cooked, remove from the oven and serve immediately, pouring the garlicky juices on top 😛 Eat!

I had mine alongside an egg salad, but obviously you can have it with whatever you want. Top with creme fraiche and chives (as an example) for something a little bit special 🙂

IMG_1424

4 Comments Add yours

  1. OMG That is on my menu for tonight. Could I use butter though? Don’t have olive spread.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha of course Marilyn! It was so yummy 👅 so garlicky, mmmm… Let me know how it goes 😉

      Like

  2. I have just forwarded this to my other half for him to try. Sounds so good!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha let me know how he gets on 🙂 they’re so yummy! Seriously garlicky (but obvs use less if you’re not a hardcore garlic fan!). Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

