Homemade houmous

I’ve really been enjoying making houmous (hummus) these past few weeks – so simple, really easy to customise, and tastes soo much better than shop-bought! I’ll leave you with the basic recipe. (You’ll need a food processor for this one.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 4 tbsp tahini paste
  • Juice of 1 lemon  plus the zest of 1/2 lemon (lemon zest optional – I find it to be too bitter, but my sisters loved it)
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • olive oil (about 100ml)
  • salt to season

Method:
(Makes one large bowl)

  1. Blend together the chickpeas, tahini paste, lemon juice and salt in a food processor until as smooth as you can get it.
  2. Slowly, while the food processor is still on, drizzle in the olive oil until it reaches hummus consistency. If you need more, add more (or a few tablespoons of ice-cold water), or hold back if you think you don’t need it all.
  3. Check for seasoning again.
  4. Eat!

Once you’ve got your basics down, go wild with your flavours! I made a batch with chilli pesto and it was absolutely delicious 🙂 Enjoy

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum, making that shortly. My son Louis has been recommending making my now but could never give me the quantities. I shall be all over it now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha do! And let me know how you get on 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

