Banana bread (with honey & choc chips)

One of my favey things for breakfast (or, to be honest, any time of the day) is toasted banana bread slathered in butter that just melts like a dream on top of a hot crunchy crust… Mm… And, since I keep forgetting that I am just one person to cook for at uni and I always over-estimate what a single person can eat, I found myself in quite a flap about what to do with my 4 over-ripe bananas that I didn’t want to feel pressured into eating straight away, but also knew I couldn’t leave them much longer or they’d become inedible…

Following the girls’ advice, I quickly turned them into banana bread!

Ingredients:

  • 285g / 10oz plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarb of soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 115g / 4oz unsalted butter
  • 115g / 4oz brown sugar
  • 115g / 4oz honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 bananas, mashed
  • 85ml / 3fl oz buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 50-100g/2-3oz dark chocolate chips (or more, if you desire)

Tips:

  • Butter – melt this down in a pan until it turns a light brown. This’ll give a wonderful nutty taste!
  • Honey – if using set honey (like I did) the melted butter will ensure it incorporates smoothly into the mixture. If you don’t want to melt your butter, simply melt your honey in the microwave for a few seconds until it becomes runny
  • Bananas – best to use ripe, or even over-ripe. If you don’t have any ripe ones and just really really want banana bread, simply bung your bananas in the oven at 190C for about ten minutes, until the skins have gone black. Don’t worry! Your banana is not burnt – peel away the skin to reveal the gorgeous roasted banana underneath 🙂
  • Buttermilk – if this is not available, simply use 85ml/3fl oz of normal milk, with 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice or vinegar added. (I used lemon juice.)

IMG_9344

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C fan.
  2. Mix together the melted butter, honey and sugar.
  3. Beat in the eggs. Then add the rest of the wet ingredients – that’s the buttermilk and the bananas.
  4. Sift in the flour, bicarb and salt, and fold through until thoroughly combined.
  5. Lastly add in your chocolate chips (completely optional) (except I will probably judge you if you actively choose not to incorporate them).
  6. Pour your mixture into a lined tin of your choice. Traditionally, banana bread is baked in a loaf tin, but I didn’t have any 😦 so I used my 2 new traybake trays instead. They took 30 minutes to cook through/until a knife came out clean.
  7. As ever, eat!

IMG_9353

PS – happy Leap Day!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. immimarsh says:

    mmm these sound great!!

    Like

    1. Thanks! They were pretty delicious, especially toasted with a bit of butter and a cup of tea… They didn’t last long 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. immimarsh says:

        Haha I bet!! X

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

