A week of celebrations (&pancake recipe)

Monday was Tet/Chinese New Year, and at home we made lots and lots of food to share with the whole family. The girls and I were prepping all morning, and all the hard work paid off because everything was soo delicious!

I don’t have recipes for them, (although here X is a recipe I did the other week of summer rolls) but here are a few photos I took of the Vietnamese dishes we tried to recreate.

Next was Shrove Tuesday, aka Pancake Day! Briony and I churned out 20ish pancakes that morning, (she made American-style, I made crepes) and we had a whole array of toppings to go with them. Of course, I had to have a traditional lemon and sugar crepe, just like the good old days… We started the day with pancakes, and finished the day with pancakes, just how it should be done.

I thought I’d share with you my pancake recipe, or rather, ‘method’, since I never weigh out ingredients for crepes, I just judge by eye and the consistency of the batter. But they always turn out great, and even my French cousin (a real-life French person) has commended me on them 🙂

Ingredients:

  • plain flour (at a guestimate, I’d say about 300-400g)
  • 1 egg (use 2 if you’re serving 4/5+ people)
  • milk (the medium tall, thin milk bottle should cover it)

That’s it!

Method:
(Makes approx 20)

  1. Put flour in a bowl and make a little well in the middle.
  2. Crack the egg(s) into the well, and whisk into the flour with a whisk.
  3. Gradually add the milk, continually whisking, until the batter reaches the consistency of double cream.
    (You can leave your batter, clingfilmed, in the fridge overnight if you want.)
  4. Heat a frying pan (preferably non-stick) and add a knob of butter or a dribble of vegetable oil.
  5. Pour in the batter (using a bowl/jug with a spout, or a ladle helps) continually rotating the pan so the whole bottom gets coated.
  6. Cook at medium-high heat for 2-3 mins either side, or until golden.

Crepes are so easy, and also so easy to make delicious! Such a great treat to knock up with minimal ingredients. I hope everyone else had pancakes on Tuesday too! 🙂

IMG_8996

Leave a Reply

